review: the amazing spider-man 2 (2014)

So.

I love Andrew Garfield.
I love Emma Stone.
I love Spider-Man.

Therefore I love this movie.

However, this film has received ratings that average between 2 to 3 stars.

Why?

Some comments from other film-viewers include:
“Left me bored when there was no action.”
“Overstuffed plot and too many villains.”
“Nothing but a blur.”
(Source: Rotten Tomatoes)

My thoughts?

I do watch other superhero movies and give them a fair chance whenever they are released – but the reason Spider-Man is my favourite out of them all is because they are more based on plot and self-realization, mixed in with the action and “super” aspect of them. While movies like Captain America are packed with action, I find myself lost in the typical superhero plots and all those movies seem to just merge together and I can’t keep track of which superhero is who.

spider-man in action

Source: ScienceFiction.com

Of course, I do realize that Spider-Man also follows a pretty predictable superhero archetype, but he does it in such a way that I remain enthralled in his adventure. Maybe it’s Garfield’s soulful, deep, dog-like brown eyes – as Stone’s character Gwen mentions in the film – or maybe it’s Peter Parker’s goofy, down to earth, simply likeable personality, or maybe even the cheesy love scenes between Gwen and Peter because they are just so adorable together.

peter and gwen

Source: MTV Splashpage

**SPOILER ALERT BELOW (highlight to read)

My thoughts on Gwen’s death? It had to happen. They had to follow the story. Additionally, I thought it was very well done. While the overhead shot of Gwen falling with the scraps of destruction around her was quite cheesy and typical, the shot of her hitting the ground, and rebounding up to the string of web was extremely powerful, and while I was sad whilst watching the film at that point – I couldn’t help but appreciate the stage direction and cinematography of that sequence.


Well done.

just my rating: ★★★½

show me your thoughts

