review: the fault in our stars (2014)

It’s been awhile since I’ve actually gone out to the theatre to watch a movie – and not entirely sure I enjoyed the experience this time around. Don’t get me wrong, this film was unbelievable, and yes, real tears fell… but man, all the people around me were so distracting. Now, I’m not a super control freak. I can deal with the occasional sound of popcorn crunching, and coke slurping. What I cannot deal with however, is a baby crying throughout the entire movie – with the mother continuously leaving the theatre with her child, and then bringing her back in 5 minutes later. This happened about 7 times. I’m sorry, I love babies and all – but get a babysitter, and leave your child home if you want to enjoy a film in public, with other people.

ANYWAY, moving on from the not-so-great cinema experience. The Fault in Our Stars was definitely another tearjerker. I was apprehensive walking into the theatre – I was scared that everyone had ruined the film for me with their over-exaggerated reactions, through tweeting, instagramming, and even snap-chatting selfies of themselves sobbing in the theatre. Nevertheless, I was still pleasantly moved by the film, and I will now explain why.

Gus, Isaac and Hazel (right to left).

Gus, Isaac and Hazel (right to left).

I’m sure you have all heard of this movie by now, so I’m going to spare you from going through the synopsis all over again (if you have not heard of it, click here for some deets of the film). The entire concept of this movie/book has been done time and time again. While obviously touching, it has sort of become a go-to theme for these romantic, flicky dramas. With the potential to be overly cheesy, Josh Boone did a great job in preventing just that. The screenplay and dialogue all felt natural – with cheesy sentences not actually sounding very cheesy – and the actors performed great portrayals, letting us all fall in love with their characters.

Shailene Woodley as Hazel.

Shailene Woodley as Hazel.

Let’s talk about Shailene Woodley. The first thing I ever saw her in was The Secret Life of the American Teenager. Let’s compare and contrast the two shall we? The Secret Life – bad plot, stupid scenarios, poorly written screenplay, dull performance. Contrastingly, The Fault in Our Stars – great plot, interesting scenarios, well-written screenplay, moving performance that brought me (and the rest of the theatre, and everyone on my snapchat contact list) to tears. Thinking back, perhaps Woodley’s performance on the Secret Life actually wasn’t bad – it was the screen direction that shone her in a bad light. After all, her role in The Descendants similarly brought me to tears. Perhaps I should give one of her TV episodes a revisit? Or just watch Divergent, because I still really need to do that.

Ansel Elgort as Augustus Waters.

Ansel Elgort as Augustus Waters.

Alright, moving onto Ansel Elgort as Augustus Waters… WHERE DID THIS KID COME FROM? Man, I fell in love with him within the first 10 seconds of his screen time. And he’s younger than me? Damn. Anyway, he carried through the film with this boyish charm that didn’t seem in the least bit immature. He had such charisma, and whenever he said anything, he would do it with this little bounce, not only in his hand gestures, but in his entire body. He was literally perfect for the role – and he had great chemistry with Woodley. Looking at his IMDB, he is in the Divergent trilogy too? I REALLY need to go and watch that…

Gus and Hazel.

Gus and Hazel.

Go watch this.
If you tend to be emotional, be ready for the tears.

just my rating: ★★★★½

3 thoughts on “review: the fault in our stars (2014)

  1. Sorry you had such a bad theater experience. I’m glad it didn’t stop you from enjoying the film. I 100% agree that I was immediately thrilled by Ansel Elgort as Augustus Waters! Instant swoon!

  2. Pingback: divergent (2014) | film in words

show me your thoughts

