review: the grand budapest hotel (2014)

I watched this masterpiece by the film genius, Wes Anderson awhile ago – right when it came out – but decided I just had to write a review on it. Just because.

According to IMDB, the synopses of this film is as follows:

The adventures of Gustave H, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend.

Gustave (Fiennes) and Zero (Revolori).

Gustave (Fiennes) and Zero (Revolori).

If you have never seen a Wes Anderson film, keep an open mind. I think I hate his films so much that I love them… If that makes any sense at all. He has definitely developed his own style – in the dialogue, as well as cinematography of all his films. One thing that I absolutely love about his films is the symmetrical-ness of everything. And the fact that he refuses to fit his movies into the widescreen proportions of modern day film. There is always this black border around the frame. It’s like he has OCD in frame composition. You can even see it in the film poster.

The Grand Budapest Hotel.

The Grand Budapest Hotel.

The Grand Budapest Hotel did not fail to please. If any film was Wes Anderson, it would be this one. The fast, witty dialogue, the absurd scenarios, the dream-like, hypnotizing feel to the entire movie, it was just great.

Anyway, Ralph Fiennes was awesome as usual, but I have to give a special shout out to Tony Revolori, playing the young concierge, Zero Moustafa. While only having experience in small roles in the past, like “Kid #2”, “Son”, “Boy”, “Younger Boy”, etc., his air of naivety really worked out for him in this role. His innocent character plopped right into these extravagant scenarios made for a wonderful story.

Just adding one more little tidbit to this post – but oh my gosh there was this one scene with these fingers. And if you have watched this or will watch it, you (will) know what I am talking about. I’m pretty sure I actually squealed out loud in the theatre, it was just so unnecessary and completely caught me off guard. Bleh, just typing about it brings me back. Gross.

just my rating: ★★★★

One thought on “review: the grand budapest hotel (2014)

  1. Pingback: The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)… the intertextual monument to Anderson’s brilliance | FYC: 365 reviews to remember you by

show me your thoughts

