review: remember sunday (2013)

Alexis Bledel captured my heart once again in this cute rom-com. Remember Sunday tells the story of Molly (Bledel) and Gus (Zachary Levi), a waitress turned off from men by a lousy relationship, and a jewelry store clerk/astronomy genius who suffers from a brain aneurysm – and short term memory loss, causing him to forget his day to day activities upon waking up each morning. As the two cross paths, a quirky love story unfolds.

Gus (Levi) and Molly (Bledel) and their quirky romance.

Gus (Levi) and Molly (Bledel) and their quirky romance.

When watching this, I couldn’t not think of 50 First Dates (2004), with Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore. While I enjoyed the film at the time, I can’t help but say Remember Sunday was much more successful in capturing the emotions and the constant roller-coaster of story lines that come along with the disease. Now, this could very well be a biased opinion, due to my soft spot for Alexis Bledel, and annoyance of Adam Sandler, but I definitely think the cuter, quirkier approach to this concept worked much better than the slapstick-ish comedy theme in 50 First Dates.

To continue my gushing on about Alexis Bledel, she was just lovely in this role. Don’t get me wrong, I am absolutely in LOVE with the Gilmore Girls series, and her performance as Rory Gilmore – but it was very refreshing to see her drop the baby voice/act slightly and play a (more) sophisticated role. While I don’t see her being in a horror film, or mind-blower (Inception anyone?) anytime soon, the more “indie” feeling romantics suit her just fine.

I must also add that I LOVE this sweater and need it.

I must also add that I LOVE this sweater and need it.

Moving onto Zachary Levi, he was nice to look at – and his performance as Gus was applaudable at times, but I found that at some moments (mostly the more dramatic ones), his outbursts of emotion seemed forced, and downright awkward. It was like he was trying too hard to convey emotion and it just didn’t feel right, or natural. Good attempt – but not quite there.

Gus in the morning.

Gus in the morning.

While Levi’s performance was slightly under par, the chemistry between the two was believable and with lots of help from Bledel, the duo brought the film to a respectable level, and it was a nice, comforting bedtime film.

just my rating: ★★★★

show me your thoughts

