review: the secret life of walter mitty (2013)

To be honest, when I first saw this preview in theatres – all my friends starting raving about how excited they were for this to come out, but I really couldn’t care less. I don’t know, it just didn’t interest me. Later on, upon hearing all the great responses from my friends about this movie, I finally decided to give it a try.

Ben Stiller as Walter Mitty.

Ben Stiller as Walter Mitty.

Synposis (IMDB): A day-dreamer escapes his anonymous life by disappearing into a world of fantasies filled with heroism, romance and action. When his job along with that of his co-worker are threatened, he takes action in the real world embarking on a global journey that turns into an adventure more extraordinary than anything he could have ever imagined.

In the end, it was my sister who forced me to watch this with her. She had actually watched it a few nights before, but willingly sat through it with me again because she thought it was super inspiring, and had to make sure I actually watched it. My reaction? I still didn’t get what was so inspiring about this film. Yeah, the plot is clearly directed toward a “feel-good” movie, but there was no excitement for me, no tingles. And I feel like I am the only one in this world who feels this way.

Kristen Wiig and Ben Stiller star in this film.

Kristen Wiig and Ben Stiller star in this film.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad film. It’s not like it had terrible continuity or anything. There wasn’t much wrong with it. It just didn’t get to me – and when things like this happen, I’m never really sure why.

Then I started to brainstorm.

Possible reasons I didn’t feel it:

  • I never really liked Ben Stiller
  • I only like Kristen Wiig when she is being absurdly hilarious
  • Ben Stiller looks so old now
  • They make a very awkward couple

And so I got it.

Stiller and Wiig as romantic interests.

Stiller and Wiig as romantic interests.

It wasn’t the story, screenplay, cinematography, soundtrack, or editing that I didn’t like. In fact, I LOVED the soundtrack! And the editing style was really cool! I loved the jerkiness resulting from all the jump cuts between daydream and reality. It was the protagonist and his main supporting character that ruined it for me. In all honesty, as an editor myself, I respect all the hard work that goes on behind the camera – in pre-, post-, and during production. But ultimately, it is the actors onscreen that can either make or break the film. I’m just really not a fan of Stiller, and I can’t take Wiig seriously. They are both comedic actors/actresses, and this particular type of comedy didn’t suit them – even if Stiller was the director.

Anyway, I found myself sitting on my couch, constantly zoning out. My fingers were literally twitching to reach my phone and play Candy Crush.

just my rating: ★★★

More reviews on The Secret Life of Walter Mitty:
Teacups and Things – Film Review
Mission:Repair – The Secret Life of Walter Mitty at Ryan’s House
Kate’s Bookshelf – Walter Mitty is my Soulmate

show me your thoughts

