review: a subjective ranking of sci-fi/fantasy series and trilogies.

I’m not ashamed. I easily get over-attached to, and fangirl over these blockbuster, book-converted, magical, usually dystopian-based movie series. The stories are amazing, and you just get so attached to all the characters involved. And when the last movies are ALWAYS split into 2 parts to guzzle up more of our money and time? I absolutely love it.

I’ve come up with this ranking of the best ones – in my opinion.

Additionally, to add some more info to this list, I’ve ordered my favourite movies/books within each series for you guys :)

Note: I’ve added a TV series into this list, because I just could not keep it out.

1. Harry Potter (2001-2011)
#teamravenclaw

Directors: Chris Columbus (1-2), Alfonso Cuarón (3), Mike Newell (4), David Yates (5-8)
Starring: 
Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, Rupert Grint

Book preference:

  1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  3. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (Yes – philosopher’s, not sorcerer’s… #canadian)
  4. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  5. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  6. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
  7. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Movie preference:

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 2
  2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1
  4. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
  5. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince
  6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  7. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  8. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

I don’t think I have to explain this synopsis to you. If you don’t know about the Harry Potter series, please comment and let me know where you have been for the past 10+ years, because I am genuinely curious as to how your lack of HP knowledge occurred. That being said, I actually have a housemate who has never read or watched any of the books or movies. She doesn’t know who Dumbledore is.

Anyway, this series is unbeatable. Not only did it span across the length of 10 years (14 if you count from first book to last movie), but it just affected so many people. I myself am not embarrassed to admit that I believed I was a witch until I turned 12 and my letter to Hogwarts still hadn’t arrived.

Harry Potter WILL live on forever, whether that be through Pottermore, or even through stuff like the exciting, newly announced, HP world-based movies series, Fantastic Beasts!

2. The Hunger Games (2012-2015)
#teampeeta in books and #teamgale in movies

Directors: Gary Ross (1), Francis Lawrence (2-4)
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth

Book preference:

  1. The Hunger Games
  2. Catching Fire
  3. Mockingjay

Movie preference:

  1. Catching Fire
  2. The Hunger Games
  3. (TBA) Mockingjay Pt. 1
  4. (TBA) Mockingjay Pt. 2

Yeah, I mean there are a lot out there who go all weak in the knees for this series just because of the presence of a Hemsworth, but I honestly think this series is great. Books were solid, and films are solid so far. Lets see what happens with Mockingjay Pt. 1, coming out REALLY soon!

3. Game of Thrones (2011-)
#teamtargaryen

Directors: A lot…
Starring: Lena Headey, Peter Dinklage, Emilia Clarke

Book preference:

  1. A Game of Thrones
  2. A Dance with Dragons
  3. A Clash of Kings
  4. A Storm of Swords
  5. A Feast for Crows
  6. (TBA) The Winds of Winter
  7. (TBA) A Dream of Spring

TV episode preference:

  1. No way am I doing this.

No, this is not a movie. But it definitely deserves to be in this list. I really wanted to put it in second place, above The Hunger Games, but thought I’d bump it down one just because it technically isn’t supposed to be in this list… Anyway, my watching of TV show has resulted in things like me shouting at the TV screen at 2am, throwing various objects, biting into pillows, crying/laughing/screaming all at the same time… and you get the point.

Biggest roller coaster dragon ride EVER.

4. Divergent (2014-2017)
#teamdauntless #teamdivergent

Director: Neil Burger
Starring: Shailene Woodley, Theo James, Kate Winslet

Book preference:

  1. Divergent
  2. Insurgent
  3. Allegiant (TBA, almost done – but will probably be in 3rd place still)

Movie preference:

  1. Divergent
  2. (TBA) Insurgent
  3. (TBA) Allegiant Pt. 1
  4. (TBA) Allegiant Pt. 2

Yeah this one is kinda tweeny. Ok very tweeny. But I like it. ALMOST done the books for this one. Will probably finish by the end of today because they are such quick, easy reads and I love it.

However, I have been finding a lot of similarities between Allegiant, and the novel The Chrysalids. With the same lingo and everything. Anyone else notice this?

Also, I absolutely love when there are things like sorting hat activities for Pottermore, etc. Well, I took the aptitude test, and apparently I have aptitude for Dauntless, and Candor. Weee.

5. The Hobbit (2012-2014)
#teamelf

Directors: Peter Jackson
Starring: Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Richard Armitage

Book preference:

  1. The Hobbit (but I didn’t read it…)

Movie preference:

  1. The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
  2. The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
  3. (TBA) The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

This could have EASILY been placed over Divergent, but I haven’t read the book so it felt unfair. Yeah I have a weird way of thinking, whatever.

I definitely prefer The Hobbit over The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I mean, the Fellowship of the Ring was a great film, and I loved that one, but the other ones were just so… blah. They didn’t capture my attention and I found myself dazing off with apparent meaningless fighting constantly happening on the screen. Anyway, the Hobbit film series is great. Awesome plot that keeps moving forward, and MEANINGFUL fighting that adds to the story. Also no Elijah Wood.

To explain my ordering of the Desolation of Smaug over the Unexpected Journey? I’ve heard many negative comments regarding the 2nd Hobbit movie, and while the end was not ideal, I couldn’t really see why people were complaining. Add elves into any film and it will jump right up in my rankings. Legolas <3.

Anyway, definitely pre-ordering tickets for the last movie, coming out December 17!

Let me know what you think of my list, and comment YOUR favourite series/trilogies below!

show me your thoughts

