review: inside llewyn davis (2013)

This was great. Truly great. Great length. Great story. Great characters portrayed by great actors. Subtle humour. This is my kind of movie. So much yes.

Synopsis (IMDB): A week in the life of a young singer as he navigates the Greenwich Village folk scene of 1961.

Ok but the MUSIC in this! I can’t get over how good it was, and maybe it blinded me against some negative aspects throughout this film. That being said, I fully enjoyed this, and I honestly don’t care if it was the music or the actual movie that made it for me. Oscar Isaac, where did you come from?

It was strange, at first – I thought Isaac, as Llewyn Davis, was actually Alex Karpovsky (mosy commonly known as Ray in the hit TV series, Girls. They don’t really look alike, but at some angles, they looked pretty similar to me. They also kind of sound similar, and hold similar mannerisms. They have that same endearing, slightly awkward, “indie” feel to their style of acting. I love it. Anyways, I was watching this – and then Karpovsky actually appeared in the film – blowing my mind away. I then realized Adam Driver, also from the cast of Girls, was also in this. Just the fact that these two were in the film could also be part of the reason why I loved this movie so much.

Yeah. The fact that that is all I have to say about this film sort of speaks for itself and says that I liked it primarily because of who was in it, and the extraordinary musical talents that came along with them. I am also a strong supporter of the arts, and do what I can to show it and help the cause! That being said, if you like music, and like Girls, watch this.

I have also just realized how horribly written this post is.

Sorry.

just my rating: ★★★★½

Other reviews on Inside Llewyn Davis:

The Nostalgic Projectionist – Inside Llewyn Davis – 2003
The Long Take – Review: Inside Llewyn Davis
SturrockBlog – Inside Llewyn Davis Review

show me your thoughts

