review: the lego movie (2014)

This was great! Definitely exceeded my expectations. I had heard great things about this one prior to watching it, but for some reason, I just didn’t think it would be very good. Thinking back now, I’m wondering why I wasn’t excited about this one. Lego + movies – what more could you ask for?

Synopsis (IMDB): An ordinary Lego construction worker, thought to be the prophesied ‘Special’, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil tyrant from gluing the Lego universe into eternal stasis.

Yeah this was great – packed with excitement and clever puns, it was more than I could hope for. To describe this film in one sentence, I would say that it is a perfect blend of a typical teenage-dystopian-world-based-on-a-book trilogy, Lord of the Rings, Wreck-It Ralph, and and Toy Story. How can one film be all these things? Well – here’s a little breakdown for you.

  • Teenage-dystopian-world-based-on-a-book trilogy: I just got this vibe from the fact that the world seemed to be a very controlling environment, with laws and rules enforced to keep the peace of a “perfectly balanced’ society, not unlike the city in Divergent, the Districts of The Hunger Games, and so many more.
  • Lord of the Rings: I guess you could say that this was like Lord of the Rings just due to the story’s loyalty to the typical hero archetype. This came from the unexpected, unwanted journey, the obligatory mentor figure, and the sort of “fellowship” that formed to help Emmet (protagonist) on his journey.
  • Wreck-It Ralph: The animation style was very similar to that of Wreck-It-Ralph, as well as the sort of self-reflexive humour at the fact that we are watching inanimate objects, or toys from our childhood, live out their lives.
  • Toy Story: This connection came from the last portion of the film, where interaction between the lego characters and “real world” humans occurs.

So yeah, there is my reasoning for my crazy description of the film. This was hilarious, I love this type of humour. I am so over the gross, vulgar stuff – TBH I was never really into it. One particular reference in this that I personally found exceptionally hilarious (due to the fact that I am an extreme yogi) was the subtle Ujjayi breath comment. Did you catch it?

So yeah, I would say watch this one. A really great film. And everything is awesome.

just my rating: ★★★★½

Other reviews on The Lego Movie:
The Nine Movigos: The Lego Movie Review by Movie Mitch
Death by Firing Squad – The LEGO Movie
Tom Girard – The Lego Movie

One thought on “review: the lego movie (2014)

  1. Pingback: the lego movie (2014) | Tinseltown Times

show me your thoughts

