review: heaven is for real (2014)

You know how I just wrote an unsatisfied review on If I Stay a few days ago? Well – I sort of had the same sort of reaction to this film, though not nearly as intense.

Synopsis (IMDB): A small-town father must find the courage and conviction to share his son’s extraordinary, life-changing experience with the world.

Yeah, so as I said above, my reaction toward Heaven Is for Real wasn’t quite as dramatic as the one for If I Stay, but I felt pretty much the same feelings to both films. The endings of both were just so sudden and uncalled for, leaving us sort of hanging, in anticipation for a non-existent sequel. There wasn’t much closure to the stories.

That being said, this film wasn’t all that bad. While skeptical of the “true” story, I am not going to get into the religious side of things, but just going to comment strictly on the film. It was a pretty cute, family-friendly story that warmed my heart. I mean, some parts were uncomfortably cheesy and slightly very overdone, but with films concerning this subject matter, everything kind of HAS to be overdone. One overkill that I didn’t like however, was the appearance of the angels in young Colton Burpo’s (Connor Corum) heavenly encounter. They were just so stereotypical. Ugh. An example of an overdone thing that I did like though, is Todd Burpo’s (Greg Kinnear) cheesy, inspirational speech near the end of the film. TBH it was definitely one of the better ones!

In terms of casting, I don’t have much to complain about. Connor Corum, as the young boy who has the experience in heaven, was good. His acting was quite unrefined, but I really enjoyed it in this case. He seemed like a real, genuine kid. Moreover, he even has a striking resemblance to the real boy that his character is based off of.

Overall, this was pretty good! Not a complete waste of time.

just my rating: ★★★½

Other reviews on Heaven Is for Real:
The Ramble – Heaven Is for Real (Movie Review)
The Sophia Center for Spirituality – A Child’s View
Rebuilding Rob – Rob Reviews: Heaven Is for Real

One thought on “review: heaven is for real (2014)

  1. Pingback: heaven is for real (2014) | Tinseltown Times

show me your thoughts

