predictions: and the nominees are announced: my golden globe winners.

It’s that time of the year again – it’s award season! Alright, so the nominees for the 2015 Golden Globes have been announced, and these are the winners in my eyes.

(Note: I have not seen everything that has been nominated, so these are subjective choices. If you disagree however, discussion is encouraged – I would love to hear your opinions!

Discussion is also encouraged if you agree.

Alright – here we go!

My winners are bolded, and explanations are under the categories.

Best Motion Picture, Drama

Boyhood
Foxcatcher
The Imitation Game
Selma
The Theory of Everything

I chose Boyhood, because it was just extremely well done. Simply put, it showed life – something that many blockbuster movies these days fail to capture. There were no frills, it was just a great film with great execution. Also, I think 12 years of filming deserves some sort of award. Note: I haven’t seen The Imitation Game yet, so my decision might change once I do get around to watching it!

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama

Julianne Moore – Still Alice
Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon – Wild
Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything
Jennifer Aniston – Cake

Rosamund Pike, because she was absolutely terrifying, in the most calm, eerie way possible. Starting with this opening shot.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything
Steve Carell – Foxcatcher
Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game
David Oyelowo – Selma
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler

This choice was a little awkward for me because I haven’t seen any of these (I know, I’m really slacking on the current films)… but I just have a feeling that Benny would be my winner.

Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Into the Woods
Birdman
The Grand Budapest Hotel
St Vincent
Pride

Because Wes Anderson. And all the symmetry. And Ralph Fiennes.
Side note, I haven’t seen Into the Woods yet, but I’m a sucker for musicals, so that may also alter my decision.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Julianne Moore – Maps to the Stars
Amy Adams – Big Eyes
Emily Blunt – Into the Woods
Helen Mirren – The Hundred-Foot Journey
Quvenzhané Wallis – Annie

She was absolutely amazing in this. Not only did she look wonderful, she really got into character, and really sucessfully portrayed the transformation of Madame Mallory throughout the film. She was so endearing, and really helped carry The Hundred-Foot Journey.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy

Michael Keaton – Birdman
Bill Murray – St. Vincent
Ralph Fiennes – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Cristoph Waltz – Big Eyes
Joaquin Phoenix – Inherent Vice

Because he is a boss. Simply put. Just look at him.

Best Animated Feature Film

The Lego Movie
How To Train Your Dragon 2
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls

There is nothing better than a clever animated movie, targeted towards an older demographic. The Lego Movie was absolutely hilarious, and absolutely genius. Very similar to Wreck-it-Ralph, which I also loved. Everything is awesome.

Best Foreign Language Film

I’m skipping over this one because I literally have not seen a single one of the nominees.

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture

Jessica Chastain – A Most Violent Year
Kiera Knightley – The Imitation Game
Patricia Arquette – Boyhood
Meryl Streep – Into the Woods
Emma Stone – Birdman

I haven’t seen Patricia Arquette in anything since Holes, and I was pleasantly surprised by her performance in Boyhood. She played the role of a caring, damaged mother perfectly.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood
Robert Duvall – The Judge
Edward Norton – Birdman
J.K. Simmons – Whiplash
Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

Similar to Patricia Arquette, Ethan Hawke seemed like an actual dad onscreen. I feel that sometimes, actors and actresses just try to hard to be “film parents”. These two mastered their performances in the most natural way, and it really seemed like they were the genuine parents to the kids in this film.

Best Director – Motion Picture

Ava DuVernay – Selma
Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu – Birdman
David Fincher – Gone Girl
Richard Linklater – Boyhood

Wow this one is a tough category. I’m pretty torn between Wes Anderson, David Fincher, and Richard Linklater – but decided to give this one to Richard Linklater. It’s hard enough directing an entire feature film, let alone directing an entire feature film with filming periods that are set one year apart, for the span of 12 years, with the same, aging cast. The continuity that was achieved in this film, with respect to the filming process, is absolutely amazing. That goes toward the very skillful director, and editors.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture

Wes Anderson – The Grand Budapest Hotel
Gillian Flynn – Gone Girl
Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo – Birdman
Richard Linklater – Boyhood
Graham Moore – The Imitation Game

While all great films in this category, best screenplay has to go to The Grand Budapest Hotel. Wes Anderson just has such a magical way with words, and the rhythm/timing of words. It’s similar to what Ed Sheeran does in his lyrics.

Best Original Score – Motion Picture

Alexandre Desplat – The Imitation Game
Johan Johannsson – The Theory of Everything
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross – Gone Girl
Antonio Sanchez – Birdman
Hanz Zimmer – Interstellar

Ok, so I haven’t seen the film itself – but I have the soundtrack for some reason. And it’s unreal.

Best Original Song – Motion Picture

Big Eyes
Selma
Noah
Annie
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part I

The Hanging Tree is absolutely haunting, and I love how it is sung by Jennifer Lawrence. The fact that she isn’t the best singer out there just adds so much to the track. It’s also placed in the film perfectly, and this song really hit me.

Best TV Series – Drama

Downton Abbey (Masterpiece)
The Affair
Game of Thrones
House of Cards
The Good Wife

Nothing will every beat Game of Thrones. I especially love it, because it’s on HBO, which allows them to pretty much do/show whatever they want. Also the fact that each episode is long enough to be a short feature film is amazing.

Best Actress in a TV Series – Drama

Viola Davis – How to Get Away With Murder
Claire Danes – Homeland
Julianna Margulies – The Good Wife
Robin Wright – House of Cards
Ruth Wilson – The Affair

She is such a strong character, and very badass. I love it.

Best Actor in a TV Series – Drama

Kevin Spacey – House of Cards
Clive Owen – The Knick
James Spader – The Blacklist
Dominic West – The Affair
Liev Shreiber – Ray Donovan

This one is pretty obvious in my eyes. Kevin Spacey just has that je ne sais quoi that makes him so powerful and intimidating onscreen. I feel like I’d be terrified if he was in the same room as I was.

Best TV Series – Musical or Comedy

Orange is the New Black
Girls
Jane the Virgin
Transparent
Silicon Valley

Ok I absolutely love Girls and Orange is the New Black, and would normally have chosen one of the two as a winner – but I’m going to go out on a limb and go with Silicon Valley this time. It’s a new show, and I think its absolutely hilarious. I may also be biased because I am a computer scientist, but this show is pretty good, and pretty underrated/unknown to the general public, I think. I’m actually very surprised to see it on this list.

Best Actress in a TV Series – Musical or Comedy

Julia Louis-Dreyfus – Veep
Edie Falco – Nurse Jackie
Gina Rodriguez – Jane the Virgin
Lena Dunham – Girls
Taylor Schilling – Orange is the New Black

While I enjoy both Girls and Orange is the New Black, I think my love for OITNB is actually due to the supporting characters. In fact, I find Taylor Schilling to be quite irritating. So I’m going with Lena Dunham with this one!

Best Actor in a TV Series – Musical or Comedy

Don Cheadle – House of Lies
William H Macy – Shameless
Ricky Gervais – Derek
Jeffrey Tambor – Transparent
Louie C.K. – Louie

Louie C.K. is absolutely hilarious, which is why he obviously gets this one.

Best TV Movie or Mini-Series
Best Actress in a TV Movie or Mini-Series
Best Actor in a TV Movie or Mini-Series

Skipping over these ones because I haven’t seen any of the nominations.

Best Supporting Actress in a Series, Mini-Series, or TV Movie

Kathy Bates – American Horror Story: Freak Show
Uzo Aduba – Orange is the New Black
Joanne Frogatt – Downton Abbey
Michelle Monaghan – True Detective
Allison Janney – Mom

Yeah Crazy Eyes!!! She is perfect in her character, and portrays “Crazy Eyes” well without overstepping the line between funny, and just ridiculous. She definitely deserves this one.

Best Supporting Actor in a Series, Mini-Series, or TV Movie

I haven’t seen any of these.

Well there you go, there is my list!

Moral of the story? I need to get my movie-watching game on. Now that exams are over however, that is totally possible and I can’t wait to get started :)

Leave comments please! Who would you choose to win?

One thought on “predictions: and the nominees are announced: my golden globe winners.

  1. Pingback: the imitation game (2014) | just my rating

show me your thoughts

