review: the longest ride (2015)

So I had a sudden craving to go to the movie theatre the other day, and honestly didn’t know of any of the films currently being shown in theatres. With limited choice, I decided to watch The Longest Ride (2015). It’s exam time for school, and a friend and I just had to get our minds away from real life, and into a cheesy fantasy mind of another. While this film wasn’t quite award-winning worthy, it was much better than what I was expecting.

That being said, I honestly think that the main reason that I enjoyed this film so much goes primarily to the mass amounts of screen time of Scott Eastwood‘s abs.

Synopsis (IMDB): After an automobile crash, the lives of a young couple intertwine with a much older man, as he reflects back on a past love.

WHAT I LIKED.

Scott Eastwood as Luke Collins.
Where has this beautiful man been my entire life? With his striking blue eyes and chiseled body, it’s hard to look away – or pay attention to whether or not his acting performance was actually good. He also suited the whole cowboy character perfectly.

The method of adaptation from the novel.
While I haven’t actually read the Nicholas Sparks novel myself, my friend that came to see this film with me briefed me on what actually happened in the novel vs what happened in the movie version. I generally don’t appreciate when films or TV show stray from the book originals (ahem… Game of Thrones, what are you doing?), but from the information from my friend, I must say I’m pretty impressed with the changes they made to the narrative to accommodate a better, more effective film story. From the sounds of it, this structure of the narrative definitely worked better for the cinema.

The parallel storyline between Ira and Ruth
So I didn’t quite fall in love with the relationship between Sophia and Luke (Robertson and Eastwood), but I did fall in love with the second storyline between Ira and Ruth. This relationship seemed so much more genuine, and I feel that this narrative was developed so much more, and more effectively than the one that occurred in present day. There was just no substance in the current day relationship, but this love from the past helped carry this film forward.

WHAT I WAS ON THE FENCE ABOUT.

Britt Robertson as Sophia Danko.
To be completely honest, I found Britt Robertson quite irritating to watch. I’m not sure if it was her shrill, high-pitched voice, or if it was a problem with the dialogue in the screenplay, but I did not fall in love with her character the way a viewer is supposed to with the protagonist of a Nicholas Sparks chick flick. First of all, she does not look like a “Sophia” at all, and I found myself forgetting her name throughout the entire film. Moving on from that, I just didn’t believe her performance, and did not believe her as this “different”, caring female character that Luke Collins (Eastwood) was so enthralled with.

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE.

The length.
Yep, this movie was WAY too long. At over 2 hours, this film could have been cut down into something way shorter, while still getting all the points across to the audience. Personally, I feel that the development and early stages of the relationship between Luke and Sophia moved way too slow. In addition, I felt that there was an overload of filler material and moments throughout.

The cheesiness and awkward moments.
I’m a sucker for cheesiness, I will say that. I generally enjoy a healthy dose of cheesy moments in a film. However, The Longest Ride (2015) consisted of more cheesy moments than healthy, and it threw me off quite a bit. These frequent moments just made me cringe, and made the relationship between Luke and Sophia seem SO forced. I didn’t feel the chemistry between them at all. That being said – the cheesy parts in the parallel storyline between Ira and Ruth were perfect.

FINAL COMMENTS.

Great film if you feel like thinking about nothing, which was perfect in my situation in watching this. Also, I would totally watch it again just to swoon over Scott Eastwood some more.

just my rating: ★★★

Other reviews on The Longest Ride (2015)
The Xavier Newsletter – ‘The Longest Ride’, predictable yet enjoyable
According to Aynsley – The Longest Ride: Among the best of Nicholas Sparks’ movies
Une rivière de pensées – Let’s Go For The Longest Ride 

4 thoughts on “review: the longest ride (2015)

  1. I really don’t understand this craze about Nicholas Sparks adaptations. “Dear John” was ok but nothing special, and “The Notebook” was disappointing (with the exception of Ryan Gosling’s abs). I just can’t connect with Sparks’ characters because they’re so bland – I think he does that to try and make them relateable but I just end up forgetting who they are…

    • I see what you mean! Many of Sparks’ characters follow pretty much the same archetype. I also didn’t really like Dear John – it was boring, but I did enjoy The Notebook.

      Nicholas Sparks adaptations are definitely my guilty pleasures :)

      Thanks for the comment!

show me your thoughts

