review: pitch perfect 2: we’re back pitches (2015)

While many tend to compare sequels of films to their respective prequels, I honestly don’t even want to compare Pitch Perfect 2 to the first one. They we’re both just so great in their own ways. I’ll expand more on this after the below.

Synopsis (IMDB): After a humiliating command performance at Lincoln Center, the Barden Bellas enter an international competition that no American group has ever won in order to regain their status and right to perform.

WHAT I LIKED.

The similarity AND the astounding difference to the first film.
I LOVED how different this film was from the first one. It could definitely stand as its own film – although of course, my loyalty and love to the first film definitely intensified my appreciation for this one. While the characters, and the style of humour (including a few extended jokes from the first) remained similar, the storyline, and jam-packed delivery of puns and funny lines really helped Pitch Perfect 2 succeed as its own.

Flula.
FLULA. I’ve been obsessed with his YouTube channel since his days of posting videos like “happy as a clam” or “shooting fish in a barrel”. I was extremely excited when spotting him in this trailer, and he did not disappoint in this film. However, I do think that previous knowledge with his YouTube videos made me enjoy his role in this much more, as he did seem to reference himself at multiple points of this movie. TEAM DSM.

The emotional impact.
The ending performance just got me. Watch to find out what I am talking about.

Fat Amy and Bumper.
These 2 totally made this film for me. Absolutely hilarious and such a powerful duo together. I’d like to see a spinoff with these two.

The Green Bay Packers.
Yeah. They were funny.

WHAT I WAS ON THE FENCE ABOUT.

The music.
The music was good, don’t get me wrong – just the music in the first film was so much better. I feel like a stronger selection of songs to cover could have definitely been made, as well as the acapella covers themselves.

Hailee Steinfeld.
I found that Hailee Steinfeld‘s portrayal of her character was very forced, and quite uncomfortable to watch – and not in a good way. However, I appreciated her voice and talent in her singing, so I respect her :)

FINAL COMMENTS.

WATCH THIS NOW.

just my rating: ★★★★

Other reviews on Pitch Perfect 2 (2015)
MillysMagesticFilms – Pitch Perfect 2 Review
Put your feet up with Catherine – Pitch Perfect 12A
Rogue & Regal – My tasty review of Pitch Perfect 2

show me your thoughts

