review: the danish girl (2015)

I was blown away by The Danish Girl at TIFF in September, and thought I’d write about it now as it’s coming out to theatres in the next couple of weeks.

Synopsis (IMDB): The remarkable love story inspired by the lives of artists Lili Elbe and Gerda Wegener. Lili and Gerda’s marriage and work evolve as they navigate Lili’s groundbreaking journey as a transgender pioneer.

You know that uncomfortable, claustrophobic feeling you get in your throat when you experience something extremely traumatic, or just emotional? That feeling when something truly reaches into your soul and guts and just gets you, so badly that you can barely breathe. Well I experienced that feeling throughout probably 3/4 of this film, and the feeling lingered for about 8 hours after I stepped out of the theatre. I couldn’t think about anything else.

Bravo to Eddie Redmayne, who intensely captured the character of Lili Elbe. He made me uncomfortable – made me cringe in the most wonderful and horrible way possible. He made me love Lili. He made me hate Lili. I honestly don’t know where on the emotion spectrum I stood, but wherever my position, it was intense. I remember at one point in the film, I thought to myself – I feel very uncomfortable right now, I don’t think this film is moving me at all. The next minute, I felt a tear drop on my face, started crying, and had no idea at what point in the film my emotions took over.

Alicia Vikander as Gerda Wegener was also a force to be reckoned with. While Redmayne carried you on an emotional rollercoaster, Vikander kept you sane, at a more stable but equally as intense emotional state.

Another standout to me was the cinematography. With unconventional angles, and stunning symmetry – I couldn’t help but just sit back and enjoy the view.

That 5.4 rating on IMDB? Not an accurate representation of the film if you ask me.

just my rating: ★★★★★

Other reviews on The Danish Girl:
Consequence of Sound: TIFF Film Review – The Danish Girl
Let Movie Move Us: Tiff 15 Review – The Danish Girl

2 thoughts on “review: the danish girl (2015)

  1. Pingback: review: the revenant (2015) | just my rating

  2. Pingback: lists: a year in film – my favs of 2015 | just my rating

show me your thoughts

