review: the walk (2015)

If you decide to watch The Walk, I would definitely say go see it in 3D, IMAX, on the biggest screen you can find nearby. Also, if you are afraid of heights, maybe don’t watch this.

Synopsis (IMDB): In 1974, high-wire artist Philippe Petit recruits a team of people to help him realize his dream: to walk the immense void between the World Trade Center towers.

1401x788-the-walk-walk-pk-04_walk_stills_20150729-002_461847_r_rgb

I was EXTREMELY excited to see this. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, an accent, and those amazing tightrope walking shots featured in the trailer – what more could a girl ask for?

This movie was NOT what I expected. I did not expect it to be so comedic, fun, and quirky. Starting off with Gordon-Levitt’s character, Philippe Petit, talking straight into the camera into the audience, with his cute but extremely unconvincing french accent, I was very startled. Not just because of all that “breaking the fourth wall” crap, but I guess I just expected more of a typical serious biographical drama.

That being said, the comedic moments were great. I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Was it as riveting as I thought it would be? Probably not. The plot itself was honestly pretty weak, along with the character and relationship developments throughout. The playfulness of the whole thing kept the story alive and going well though, and balanced the subpar story out a bit.

the-walk-joseph-gordon-levitt

Another thing that made up for the weak storyline? THAT WALKING SCENE. IN 3D. My friend and I were honestly holding onto each other for dear life in our theatre seats. It looked so real, so amazing. Before watching The Walk myself, I had heard from a few friends that they actually felt sick from the realistic horrifying high height shots. While I myself did not feel nauseous at all, it was pretty convincing and I was pretty excited about it.

So yeah, to conclude – if you decide to watch this, I highly recommend seeing it in IMAX 3D. You just won’t get the same experience without it.

just my rating: ★★★★

Other reviews on The Walk:
how to survive in paris: My review of “The Walk”
White on Film: ‘The Walk’ (2015) Review
Reel Red Reviews: The Walk (2015)

show me your thoughts

