my winners: golden globes 2016

YAY for award season! I couldn’t be happier, it’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Now that the nominees for the Golden Globes 2016 have come out, it’s time for me to make my predictions.

Keep in mind, I haven’t watched all of the films. I have watched most of them however. Additionally, this is just my little opinion. Feel free to share your views in the comments (in fact, I encourage you to), but no nasty fights please! We are all entitled to our own thoughts and feelings :)

Also skipped some of the categories, either because I haven’t seen any of the films in them, or I just don’t know enough to make a good choice.

Without further ado…

room

Best Motion Picture – Drama
Mad Max: Fury Road
Room
Spotlight
The Revenant
Carol

Without a doubt. Room was definitely the highlight of my year (my film year). While Mad Max was definitely more action-packed, and Spotlight was so extremely riveting, I found that Room just got to me more intensely than the others. It was more subtle, but felt more intimate – and made me cry the most…

Also would like to point out that I am SO happy Mad Max made it into this category!

trainwreck-movie-poster-2015

Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Joy
Spy
The Big Short
The Martian
Trainwreck

Before you start yelling at me – I’m very surprised that The Martian is in this category… yeah it was pretty comedic at times, but I definitely thought this would end up as a Drama contender. If I’m judging by overall picture, The Martian would be the one for me, 100%. Because this is a Comedy category, I have to go with Trainwreck. Amy Schumer is a god.

I also have not seen Joy, OR The Big Short yet. So this choice may not be accurate.

larson-crop-promo-xlarge2

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama
Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn
Cate Blanchett – Carol
Rooney Mara – Carol
Brie Larsen – Room
Alycia Vikander – The Danish Girl

This is a STACKED category, wow. Choosing Room for the same reasons above. Also – Brie Larsen locked herself in her apartment for a month to experience the feeling of being trapped and restless. Go her.

danish-girl1

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama
Will Smith – Concussion
Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant
Bryan Cranston – Trumbo

I’ll admit I have a soft spot for Eddie Redmayne, but his performance in The Danish Girl seriously blew me away. I find that the subtlety in the changes in his body language as he encompasses different characters is his strongest skill.

amy-schumer

Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Lily Tomlin – Grandma
Jennifer Lawrence – Joy
Melissa McCarthy – Spy
Maggie Smith – The Lady in the Van
Amy Schumer – Trainwreck

See above. (Amy Schumer is a god. Haven’t seen Joy yet.)

matt-damon-the-martian

Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy
Al Pacino – Danny Collins
Mark Ruffalo – Infinitely Polar Bear
Christian Bale – The Big Short
Steve Carell – The Big Short
Matt Damon – The Martian

Again, WHY is The Martian a comedy? Someone explain. BUT… Matt Damon was funny.

2015exmachina_press_20_140115-hero

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in any Motion Picture
Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs
Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight
Helen Mirren – Trumbo
Jane Fonda – Youth
Alicia Vikander – Ex Machina

Not particularly attached to any in this category, but she’s great.

bridgeof-spies-777x437

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in any Motion Picture
Michael Shannon – 99 Homes
Idris Elba – Beasts of No Nation
Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies
Sylvester Stallone – Creed
Paul Dano – Love & Mercy

To be completely honest, Mark Rylance’s character in Bridge of Spies seemed quiet simple. But he NAILED it. I do also have to say however, I am disappointed that Jacob Tremblay didn’t make it in this category. He’s young – but ever so talented.

Spotlightcast_article_story_large

Best Director – Motion Picture
Todd Haynes – Carol
George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
Tom McCarthy – Spotlight
Ridley Scott – The Martian
Alejandro Inarritu – The Revenant

Haven’t seen The Revenant yet. Mad Max is a VERY close second choice.

720x405-bg98yo_room_01_o2_8707116_1438094948

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture
Emma Donoghue – Room
Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer – Spotlight
Aaron Sorkin – Steve Jobs
Charles Randolph, Adam McKay – The Big Short
Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight

I read the book too, and Emma Donoghue did a fabulous job with both.

inside-out-emotions

Best Motion Picture – Animated
Inside Out
Shaun the Sheep Movie
The Good Dinosaur
The Peanuts Movie
Anomalisa

It was so clever. And so emotional – literally.

the_danish_girl_still_h_15

Best Original Score – Motion Picture
Carter Burwell – Carol
Daniel Pemberton – Steve Jobs
Alexandre Desplat – The Danish Girl
Ennio Morricone – The Hateful Eight
Ryuichi Sakamoto, Alva Noto – The Revenant

main_content_back

Best Original Song – Motion Picture
Love Me Like You Do – Fifty Shades of Grey
See You Again – Furious 7
One Kind of Love – Love & Mercy
Writing’s on the Wall – Spectre
Simple Song #3 – Youth

Although, I do admit I am very sick of it now. I loved it when it first came out, and before it got overplayed.

maxresdefault

Best Television Series – Drama
Game of Thrones
Mr. Robot
Narcos
Outlander
Empire

Game of Thrones always.

orange-is-the-new-black-cast

Best Television Series – Musical or Comedy
Casual
Mozart in the Jungle
Orange is the New Black
Silicon Valley
Transparent
Veep

Silicon Valley is also hilarious.

flesh_and_bone_96287

Best Television Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
American Crime
American Horror Story : Hotel
Fargo
Flesh & Bone
Wolf Hall

I may be biased because I am a dancer, but I am SO incredibly happy we finally have a dance TV series that is both a great show, AND has good dancers/choreography. I knew someone would be able to do it one day.

flesh-and-bone

Best Performance by an Actress in Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Lady Gaga – American Horror Story: Hotel
Queen Latifah – Bessie
Kirsten Dunst – Fargo
Sarah Hay – Flesh & Bone
Felicity Huffman – American Crime

She may not be the best actress EVER, but she is solid – and can dance.

eva-green-at-penny-dreadful-_3

Best Performance by an Actress in a Television Series – Drama
Taraji Henson – Empire
Robin Wright – House of Cards
Viola Davis – How To Get Away With Murder
Caitriona Balfe – Outlander
Eva Green – Penny Dreadful

She is so unbelievably creepy in the best way possible.

orangeisthenewblack_gallery_uzoaduba_652_featured_photo_gallery

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Series, Limited Series or Motion Picture Made for Television
Regina King – American Crime
Joanne Froggatt – Downton Abbey
Uzo Aduba – Orange is the New Black
Maura Tierney – The Affair
Judith Light – Transparent

Crazy Eyes <3

 

And that’s it for me! Who do YOU want to win?

6 thoughts on “my winners: golden globes 2016

show me your thoughts

