review: in the heart of the sea (2015)

Synopsis (IMDB): A recounting  of a whaling ship’s sinking by a giant whale in 1820 that would inspire the great novel, Moby Dick.

This film was honestly quite underwhelming for me. The trailer for this film was maybe one of my favourite trailers this entire year, and gave me very high expectations. A few things just fell a little short in my opinion.

First of all, the character development seemed weak. I felt a tiny bit of a connection to young Thomas Nickerson (Tom Holland), but really very minimal, to no emotion for Owen Chase (Chris Hemsworth), Matthew Joy (Cillian Murphy), or old Tom Nickerson (Brendan Gleeson). I just feel like I wasn’t given enough about the characters to truly care for them, through the ups and downs they experienced throughout the movie. Many of the more emotional scenes just seemed very cheesy and on the surface for me. Perhaps some more backstory would have been helpful.

scared

I also wasn’t a big fan of the cinematography. I’m usually a fan of the strange, unconventional, angled shots (ex. the ones used in The Danish Girl), but they just didn’t do it for me in this. There were also quite a few soft shots that may have been stylistic choices, but again – my personal preference didn’t enjoy them.

The framing used in many of the shots with the whale however, were EPIC. Absolutely loved them. One in particular was the shot that showed several of the crew members afloat in the water, while the massive tail of the beast slapped down on them. So wonderful.

static-squarespace-chris-hemsworth-stars-in-the-heart-of-the-sea-trailer

Yeah, so in the end, I was pretty underwhelmed. It wasn’t a bad movie in any sense, just not as great as I thought it was going to be. I sort of wanted it to take more of a creepy, psychological thriller route, which the trailer sort of hinted at.

I also just ended up feeling bad for the whales being hunted…

just my rating: ★★★

Other reviews on Crimson Peak:
The Melting Faces: In the Heart of the Sea: Review
The Flawed Guru: In the Heart of the Sea
Chaos Breeds Chaos: Movie Mayhem – In the Hear of the Sea

show me your thoughts

