review: the revenant (2015)

Synopsis (IMDB): In the 1820s, a frontiersman named Hugh Glass sets out on a path of vengeance against those who left him for dead after a bear mauling.

W
O
W.

therevenant

Yep, it was really that good.

I can’t get over the cinematography in this. The handheld shots that seemed to never end or cut away really took me into the scenes. It didn’t feel like I was watching a film, I felt like I was actually a character in it. This method was actually quite similar to the one used in another work of cinematographer Emmanuel LubezkiChildren of Men (2006).

therevenant300915-1200x630

Now of course, I gotta talk about Leo. With all the talk about whether or not he is going to finally get his Academy Award, I honestly don’t think he disappointed. With minimal amounts of dialogue, he managed to project an impressive amount of meaning and emotion through the screen. My one critique would be that his emotion remained pretty much the same throughout the film. However, that is just how is character was written – so that wasn’t completely his fault I guess. Overall, I really think he does deserve the award, but he has some tough competition with Eddie Redmayne in The Danish Girl.

Anyway, The Revenant was fantastic. Go watch it.

just my rating: ★★★★★

Other reviews on The Revenant:
Rob Watches Movies: The Revenant – 8.5/10
Bobby W’s Reviews: The Revenant (2015)
Franz Patrick’s Film Archive: The Revenant

 

One thought on “review: the revenant (2015)

  1. Pingback: lists: a year in film – my favs of 2015 | just my rating

show me your thoughts

