the hateful eight (2015)

Synopsis (IMDB): In the dead of a Wyoming winter, a bounty hunter and his prisoner find shelter in a cabin currently inhabited by a collection of nefarious characters.

I watched this in 70mm last night, and WOW it sure looked pretty.

 

kurtrussellsamuelljacksonhatefuleight

The Hateful Eight is not just a film. It’s truly a performance. With a cut-in overture AND intermission, it seemed like more of a projected live performance than just a screening of a movie. Funniest part was post-intermission, when Tarantino’s voice welcomes you back and gives you a comedic recap of the first half. (Note – if you plan to watch The Hateful Eight in regular theatres and not in the 70mm version, you will be seeing a different cut that doesn’t include these extra features).

THE HATEFUL EIGHT

I found the first half slightly stronger than the second. Picking up and meeting the characters slowly, one by one was quite entertaining. I found it really gave each actor/actress their moments to shine, and really brought out each character effectively, allowing for very strong character development. It was like an extremely good speed-dating experience with each character involved in the movie.

The second half was a little more disorganized. Shoot outs, plot twists, projectile fountains of blood. Pretty much everything you would expect, you get it in this latter half of the movie.

Samuel L. Jackson was ON POINT in this as Major Marquis Warren. He’s definitely mastered the Tarantino Western monologue thing. His delivery was perfect. Tim Roth was absolutely hilarious, and Michael Madsen was subtle but definitely had his peak moments. Channing Tatum however – I could not take seriously. I was actually subconsciously waiting for him to appear the entire time, and when he did – I laughed. Very loudly (sorry everyone sitting around me). I couldn’t help it. I couldn’t see him as his character. I think Magic Mike is still too fresh in my mind.

screen-shot-2015-08-12-at-12-30-20-pm

To conclude, I absolutely do not think this was one of Quentin Tarantino’s best films. I do have to say it was one of my best film-going experiences however. Some people may say the theatrical-ness of this special cut was a little gimmick-y. I don’t care. The gimmick worked on me, and I absolutely loved it.

If it’s still available. Please watch this in 70mm. It’s an exclusive cut that you won’t be able to see ever again.

just my rating: ★★★★★

Other reviews on The Hateful Eight:
The Lost Highway Hotel: Review: The Hateful Eight
What George Has Watched: The Hateful Eight film review
Back to the Viewer: THE HATEFUL EIGHT Shines in Glorious 70mm

One thought on “the hateful eight (2015)

show me your thoughts

