review: the big short (2015)

SYNOPSIS (IMDB): Four denizens in the world of high-finance predict the credit and housing bubble collapse of the mid-2000s, and decide to take on the big banks for their greed and lack of foresight.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: 8/10

ACTING: 8/10 *
CINEMATOGRAPHY: 6.9/10 **
NARRATIVE/SCREENPLAY: 10/10
SCORE: 9/10

COMMENT: The Big Short was good. The screenplay was great. It just didn’t blow me away the way I expected it would.

* Maybe I’m just getting bored of the whole boss-man-in-finance role. Nothing really special in terms of acting here that I haven’t seen before – with the exception of maybe Christian Bale as Michael Burry.

** I also didn’t like the use of low quality archival footage. I get what they were trying to achieve, but it’s not my thing. I like nice cinematography.

2 thoughts on “review: the big short (2015)

show me your thoughts

