review: me and earl and the dying girl (2015)

SYNOPSIS (IMDB): High schooler Greg, who spends most of his time making parodies of classic movies with his co-worker Earl, finds his outlook forever altered after befriending a classmate who has just been diagnosed with cancer.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: 9.8/10

ACTING: 9/10
CINEMATOGRAPHY: 9.9/10
NARRATIVE/SCREENPLAY: 10/10 *
SCORE: 8/10

COMMENT: The most refreshing comedy I have seen. GENUINELY funny film with genuinely funny people, without trying too hard.

* While everything in this film was near perfect for me, from the actors’ performances to the cinematography – the standout thing in this for me was the amazing way they morphed this novel into a feature film. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a film that has represented its book counterpart this accurately – and I’m not just talking about sticking close to the plot. The editing, the cinematography, the way lines were being delivered, the whole visual design of the film represented the quirky structure of the book SO DAMN WELL. I can’t even put it into words, so if anyone out there reading this understands how I feel and is better with words than I am, please help me out in the comment section below…

To anyone who doesn’t understand what I’m trying to say, go read the book and watch the movie and you will understand. Or even if you don’t, you’ll still get great experiences so it’s all good.

show me your thoughts

