review: star wars: episode vii – the force awakens (2015)

SYNOPSIS (IMDB): Three decades after the defeat of the Galactic Empire, a new threat arises. The First Order attempts to rule the galaxy and only a ragtag group of heroes can stop them, along with the help of the Resistance.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: 9/10

ACTING: 9/10
CINEMATOGRAPHY: 8/10
NARRATIVE/SCREENPLAY: 9.8/10 *
SCORE: 10/10

REVIEW IN ONE SENTENCE: Despite rave reviews, I actually enjoyed this much more than I expected I would!

* I guess I never actually got the chance to get into Star Wars as a kid… which explains why I only JUST watched this the other day. The ending also got spoiled to me at work so I’ve been bitter and have been boycotting it a bit…

ANYWAYS. This was UNREAL. I’m onboard the Star Wars train now for sure. What I was amazed by was how much I could follow the plot and the connections between characters without really knowing that much about them prior to watching this movie. The story was wonderfully paced as well, moving through segments of the story. The wipes and other editing transitions were a bit over the top, but I mean… that’s Star Wars for you.

Oh, and DAISY RIDLEY IS QUEEN. That is all.

2 thoughts on “review: star wars: episode vii – the force awakens (2015)

show me your thoughts

