review: girl on the train (2016)

SYNOPSIS (IMDB): A divorcee becomes entangled in a missing persons investigation that promises to send shockwaves throughout her life.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: 7.2/10

ACTING: 8/10
CINEMATOGRAPHY: 9.7/10
NARRATIVE/SCREENPLAY: 6/10 *
SCORE: 7.5/10

REVIEW IN ONE SENTENCE: A cinematically beautiful film that unfortunately doesn’t quite live up to the book.

* While watching this film, I found myself in awe of the stunning framing and lighting of the shots, while not really paying attention to what was happening. I found that the story developed very slowly, but somehow also didn’t go into much depth. As I’d read the book previous to watching the movie, I knew what was happening – but at the end of the film, my friend that had not read the book turned to me and said, “I’m confused”. Needless to say, the book version of this story was definitely stronger than the film adaptation, and I’d definitely recommend reading over watching the story about the Girl on the Train.

show me your thoughts

